Search Results for: heraldry - Page 1 of 1
The online catalogue does not include details of all our collections. Contact the relevant branch for information relating to collections which have paper and card indexes.
Corder Collection (HD2418)
Between the mid-1950s and a few years before her death in April 2005, Miss Joan Kersey Corder built up a library of books and manuscripts to assist her study and the writing of four important works on Suffolk heraldry and Suffolk families.
She was born in 1921, into an old Suffolk family and moved to Felixstowe in 1937 where her father died six months later. After four years service in the WAAF, she returned to Felixstowe to keep house for her semi-invalid mother. From about 1957 to 1965 she toured the churches of Suffolk photographing every monument with effigies of those commemorated and every surviving hatchment. These photographs are items HD2418/96/7-9.
In 1957 she started work on a Dictionary of Suffolk Arms. It was hailed ‘the first substantial English work in ordinary form since Papworth’s Ordinary of 1878′ and ‘within its territorial limits… a great improvement on Papworth’. In 1967 Joan Corder was elected a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries.
She then worked on an edition of William Hervey’s Visitation of Suffolk 1561 for the Harleian Society. When published an eminent reviewer wrote ‘the impeccable scholarship of Miss Joan Corder has produced… perhaps the best ever transcript of a Visitation’ praising ‘the wealth of genealogical and heraldic detail drawn not only from wills and parish registers but from a great miscellany of printed works and manuscript sources’. In 1988 work began on a Dictionary of Suffolk Crests which appeared ten years later. Thanks to her, Suffolk is better served for heraldic reference than any other county in the British Isles, and she has established standards and methods of working for larger surveys, notably the great Dictionary of British Arms.
The Corder collection of eighty-seven East Anglian manuscripts and nineteen additional items was purchased for the county in 2006 for the use of current and future local and family historians and topographers. This was made possible by the generosity of local people, trusts and societies, as well as grants from national bodies such as the Victoria and Albert Museum, Friends of the National Libraries and the Heritage Lottery Fund.
Our leaflet contains more information about the collection and the types of records it contains.
The Cullum Library Collection (Cul)
The Cullum family owned Hardwick Hall until 1921 when, following the death of George Gery Milner-Gibson-Cullum, a bachelor with no heir, the estate was transferred to the Crown. He was able to dispose of his personal property. As mayor of Bury St Edmunds in 1913-14 he had been instrumental in establishing Moyse’s Hall as a museum and had lent the new museum a number of his family possessions. When he died these were bequeathed to the borough. He also presented the borough with family heirlooms including portraits, china, objects d’art, archives and 4,000 books from his library. When the new borough library was built in Raingate Street the Cullum Library was moved into it. The record office subsequently moved to the building in 1974 when Suffolk County Council took over responsibility for library services and the record offices became the main centres for the preservation of local studies collections as well as archives.
The Cullum Library is a private gentlemen’s library spanning about 400 years. The importance of this library is that it does not represent just the passion of one individual, but has been put together by successive generations of the same family and therefore reflects their many different interests. The collection was started by Sir Thomas Gery Cullum 1st Baronet in London. He was a rich London draper and former Sheriff of London who came from a long established Suffolk family. He had fallen out of favour during the Protectorate because he supported the royalist cause during the Civil War, but rose again following the Restoration. He bought the Hardwick and Hawstead estates in 1656 with their handsome houses, and he and his successors developed these estates, extended the houses and established libraries. The books cover a fascinating range of subjects including:- botany, gardening, architecture, astronomy, history, the colonies, volcanos, birds, moths and butterflies, agriculture, genealogy, heraldry, politics, palm-reading, medicine, recipes, sermons, poetry, witchcraft, voyages, journeys, antiquities, proverbs, biographies etc. Many of the books contain annotations made by various members of the Cullum family.