Search Results for: map - Page 4 of 6

The online catalogue does not include details of all our collections. Contact the relevant branch for information relating to collections which have paper and card indexes.

K is for Kesgrave Hall

Engraving of Kesgrave Hall, 19th century (PT/249/1)

This 19th century engraving from the Ipswich Record Office Prints Collection (ref PT) shows Kesgrave Hall built in 1812 for William Cunliffe-Shawe, who was MP for Preston in Lancaster and had estates in Suffolk. He gave the Hall to his son Robert Newton Shawe who was active in the life of the community and was MP for East Suffolk between 1832 and 1836.

The Hall, a magnificent Grade II listed mansion, was later owned by Colonel George Tomline of Orwell Park and Philip Wyndham Cobbold. It was refurbished in April 2008 as a restaurant and hotel with 23 bedrooms. The Hall has had several other uses during its life, including housing five different boarding schools.  There are a number of plans of the site in the Isaac Johnson map collection (ref HD11/475).

Lowestoft 1940s Weekend

Festival Weekend

Lowestoft will be going back in time to the 1940s on Saturday 27th and Sunday 28th May in an event to celebrate the town’s history.

The event, hosted by Lowestoft Vision will take place in Lowestoft’s town centre, from the Triangle Market down to Station Square and Britten Centre Market Square.

The weekend will comprise of a whole host of fun activities for all the family, including live music, vintage vehicles and children’s entertainment.

The town centre will be split into 5 zones, with Suffolk Record Office located in ‘Archive Avenue’ where they will be holding a display of 1940s archive material including photographs and maps of the town to demonstrate to residents some of the services they offer.

They will have 1940s items (hats, scarves, coats and shoes) for members of the public to try on, along with an evacuee ‘kit’, gas masks and various other props and resources.

People can pose to be photographed and transported back in time to 1940s Lowestoft, using images from the Suffolk Record Office archives.

The activities on offer throughout the weekend are as follows:

  • 1940s dressing up and selfies
  • Wrap a parcel for a solider on the front line
  • 1940s paper dolls colouring in and cutting out
  • Make an evacuee label
  • Handle archives from the 1940s including books of press-cuttings and civil defence rules

Activities will run from 10am until 5pm on Saturday 27th May and from 11am until 3pm on Sunday 28th May 2017.

Helen Band, Public Service Manager at Lowestoft Record Office, said:

“We’re thrilled to be involved in the Lowestoft Vision’s 1940s weekend. This is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the history of the town and reach out to people to demonstrate how they can discover their heritage through Suffolk’s Archives.”

Suffolk Show 2017 – A Great Day Out

If you’re visiting the Suffolk Show on Wednesday 31 May and Thursday 1 June come along and see us in the County Council tent. Record Office staff will be there with an update on The Hold and Mapping Suffolk Stories projects.  We can also provide general advice on your research and suggest where to start.

This year we are hoping to collect visitors’ memories and photographs of this show and previous ones. If you have any Show memories and photographs that you’d like to share with us and contribute to the archive please email us at Suffolk.Remembers@Suffolk.gov.uk

Our page about the Suffolk Agricultural Association has some of our older photographs and a brief history of the Show – why not check it out!

Record-Keeping Service of the Year

Suffolk Record Office has been nominated for Record-Keeping Service of the year at this year’s Archives and Records Association (ARA) Excellence Awards.

The ARA Excellence Awards are in their second year and comprise three categories:

  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Record-keeper of the Year Award
  • Record-keeping Service of the Year Award.

The awards celebrate the achievements of record keeping professionals across the UK and their contribution to society. The Record-Keeping Service of the Year Award will recognise achievements by an archive, conservation or records management service within the last eighteen months.

Suffolk Record Office has been nominated for the development of its digital preservation system along with their new website and online payment service. Digitisation of records is now being done in-house on wills, marriage licences, gaol books, photographs, coroners’ records and more. This follows the Record Office’s success in being a finalist in the Digital Preservation Coalition Awards last year.

In addition to this, Suffolk Record Office has recently secured Heritage Lottery Funding of £538,100 for a new heritage centre in Ipswich, in partnership with the University of Suffolk. ‘The Hold’ will not only completely transform its ability to care for and showcase the county’s records and collections, but will also promote them and give access to a broader audience.

The project to develop ‘The Hold’ includes a programme of activities and events highlighting the national and global relevance of record office collections. Part of this is ‘Mapping Suffolk’s Stories’ which will use historic maps as a starting point for uncovering stories about people, places and events. Record Office staff, aided by the University of Suffolk, heritage organisations and teachers, will work with community groups and schools to explore local heritage.

Kate Chantry, Manager of Suffolk Record Office, said: “We are thrilled to have been nominated for the Record-Keeping Service of the Year at this year’s ARA awards. This recognition reflects the hard work we do to help residents of Suffolk to access information about their heritage and history as well as to preserve these records for future generations to discover and enjoy.”

Last year’s award was keenly contested and over 2000 votes were cast for the five nominated services. This year, four services have been nominated, they are:

  • Suffolk Record Office
  • Aviva Plc
  • Bishopsgate Institute
  • Worcestershire Record Office

Jon Elliott, Head of Public Affairs at the Archives and Records Association, said: “Four strong candidates are going head-to-head in 2017 for the prestigious ARA Record-Keeping Service of the Year award. This award is open to all providers of records and archives in the UK and Republic of Ireland. The winner will largely be determined by the votes of fellow records professionals and customers of archives and records offices, hence why it is especially prized. We at the ARA wish all the candidates the best of luck.”

More information about each of the candidates is available on the Archives and Records Association’s website: http://www.archives.org.uk/latest-news/671-ara-excellence-awards-vote-now.html

Voting is now open for the Record-Keeping Service of the Year. You can vote via the link below and you have until midnight on Sunday 30 April to do so: https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/ara_awards2017

Charity Farm at Shotley

In 1982 the records of the Blue Coat Foundation (GA400) were deposited at Ipswich Record Office.  The records of the foundation contain a veritable goldmine of information on a farm and its estate in Shotley and Chelmondiston. The collection’s minute books reveal that the estate was purchased in 1734 and for many years Charity Farm, as it is now known, was leased to the Berners family of Woolverstone Hall.

Ipswich Journal 28 October 1848 advertising the sale of Shotley Farm

The Foundation’s records show that Charles Berners and his son appointed under-tenants to work the Charity Farm. Timber from the estate, mainly ash, alder and oak, was used to repair the house.  In 1808 the Trustees of the Blue Coat Foundation ordered that the backhouse and the dairy be pulled down and rebuilt at the end of the house, and that a cow-house and cart lodge be erected.
In 1830 the under-tenant was Samuel Gardiner and the estate was valued at £154 1s 16d.  At the same time observations were made as to the upkeep of the farmhouse and estate with the information being recorded in the quarterly minute books.  The minutes also reveal that relations between the Berners and the Trust were sometimes strained.  In 1841 some ash trees were felled and the timber was sold but ‘…no request was made in writing pursuant to the terms of the lease.’

1904 map of Charity Farm

Without the minutes of the Blue Coat Foundation there would only be limited information available as to how the farmhouse at Shotley and surrounding land developed in the 18th and 19th centuries.  They provide us with knowledge far beyond what the historian can usually expect, making Charity Farm a truly remarkable property history case.

Stories from our conservator

Dominic Wall is the Conservator for Suffolk Record Office and has a role to play in conserving and preserving archives across all three branches.

In this section Dominic looks at some of the items he’s recently worked on and the challenges they have posed.

Conservation of Ubbeston Town Book

Conservation of Ubbeston Town Book

Conservation of Stradbroke Tithe Map

Conservation of Stradbroke Tithe Map

Burrell album before conservation (K997)

‘Communities of Dissent’ research project

COMMUNITIES OF DISSENT

Invitation to participate in a new research project for local and family historians

Religious dissent, its impact and changing role, is the focus of a new research project for local and family historians.

This is the latest major venture of the Family and Community History Research Society (FACHRS). The society was established in 1998, initially by former Open University students of courses in social, family and community history who wanted to continue their involvement in active research, including shared, major projects done collectively and comparatively by members throughout the country. It has continued independently of the OU with current membership of over 250, of whom on average around 50 take part in major projects. Previous themes have included Swing riots, allotments, and almshouses.

Now attention is turned to the local history of Nonconformity, with Dr Kate Tiller of Oxford University as Project Director. Researchers will begin by assessing the presence of religious dissent in their chosen locality during the heyday of Nonconformity from 1850. In the following period ‘Chapel’ was a widespread and significant feature of local and national life, often drawing on proud earlier antecedents, but now with enhanced status and scale. To be ‘Chapel’ was an important source of choice and identity for individuals, families and groups. It touched not only on the spiritual but also the social, educational, political and cultural aspects of people’s private and public lives. The presence of Nonconformity gave a distinctive character to many communities.

The Communities of Dissent project will involve participants with experience in researching local and family history in two phases of active research. Phase One will produce a profile of local dissent, recording (or recovering a record of) its buildings – chapels, schools, Sunday schools, meeting rooms, institutes, ministers’ houses- and making an initial assessment of the Nonconformist culture of which they were part. A range of ‘universal’ records, including the 1851 religious census; population census; directories; newspapers; standing buildings; large-scale OS and other maps; 1910 Domesday; denominational magazines will provide a shared basis for comparative local profiles of Nonconformity. This profiling will also reveal the extent of surviving evidence for local chapels and lead into Phase Two of research involving the in-depth use of chapel records, links to other sources and analysis on topics chosen from a range of possibilities according to researchers’ interests and the available source material. Research guidance, case studies and a dedicated website will be provided. The FACHRS spring conference at the University of Leicester, 6-7 May 2017, will feature plenary contributions from Kate Tiller and project participants and a project workshop.

Researchers are being recruited fast (see map). Individuals and small groups may take part (provided at least one is a member of FACHRS and acts as contact person with the network). Recruitment is open until the end of January 2017 if space permits. If you are interesting in joining the FACHRS project, either in the areas shown or other places not yet covered please contact Janet Cumner, the project coordinator, at chapel.project@fachrs.com. She will also be interested to hear from those who may have relevant information on the Communities of Dissent being studied, a map of which will be posted on the FACHRS website.

communities of dissent

Meet Steve Gilby, our Activity Plan Officer

This October, we welcomed Steve Gilby to the project team for ‘The Hold’.  Steve is our new HLF Activity Plan Officer, and will drive forward our proposals for ‘Mapping Suffolk’s Stories’ and develop an exciting Activity Plan, reaching out across all of Suffolk.

Steve said, “I’m thrilled to be working on such an exciting project and looking forward to meeting groups and communities who share my passion for Suffolk and its heritage.”

Our new HLF Activity Plan Officer, Steve Gilby

Our new HLF Activity Plan Officer, Steve Gilby

Meet Steve Gilby, our Activity Plan Officer

This October, we welcomed Steve Gilby to the project team for ‘The Hold’.  Steve is our new HLF Activity Plan Officer, and will drive forward our proposals for ‘Mapping Suffolk’s Stories’ and develop an exciting Activity Plan, reaching out across all of Suffolk.

Steve said, “I’m thrilled to be working on such an exciting project and looking forward to meeting groups and communities who share my passion for Suffolk and its heritage.”

Our new HLF Activity Plan Officer, Steve Gilby

Our new HLF Activity Plan Officer, Steve Gilby

Sergeant Joseph Claude Hoxley

5 October 1916
Sgt Joseph Claude Hoxley   s/no 8091   age 24
buried Struma Military Cemetery  plot III H 7

Joseph, and all his siblings, were born in Ely.  But his mother had been born in Bury St Edmunds and the family moved from Ely to Bury in the 1900s.  The entry in the CWGC register states that Joseph’s brother, William Arthur Hoxley, also died in WW1 and my investigations showed a strongly military family.  William Arthur and Mary Jane Hoxley had 10 children between 1883 and 1899.  Of the 9 that survived after 1911 – 2 sons died in WW1 – 3 more sons fought and returned – the husbands of the 2 daughters fought and returned – and there’s a strong possibility that the remaining 2 sons also fought, their names are quite common.

Looking further back, William Arthur and his brother John Thomas were also military men.
The 1891 census is quite revealing.  William was age 36, a soldier, and he and his family lived on Walpole Lane in Ely.  His brother John, age 37, a ‘col/sgt on permanent staff’ lived next door with his family.  3 of John’s children survived after 1911 and one of his boys was also military.  My rough map shows the cathedral and a tangle of streets that suggest a barracks – Parade Lane – Militia Way – and Walpole Lane now Silver Street.

Carol's map of Ely showing the site of a suggested barracks

Carol’s map of Ely showing the site of a suggested barracks

In 1881 the Cambridgeshire Militia amalgamated with the Suffolk Regiment and the militia barracks in Barton Road were sold in 1913/4, the documents are at The National Archive.

So there are 4 Hoxley brothers on the same page on the Suffolk Regiment Medal Roll.

Suffolk Roll of Honour

Suffolk Roll of Honour

Joseph Hoxley's headstone

Joseph Hoxley’s headstone