The Suffolk Archives statement on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on its services is available to read here.

Suffolk Badminton Association

The Suffolk Badminton Association (SBA) was formed in 1928 and the archives ( collection GC844) are deposited in the  Ipswich Record Office.  The first committee included:

President: Capt. Ivan Cobbold

Chairman: Mr Morrean

Secretary: Mr Haddon

Treasurer: Mr Gray

Capt. Cobbold was also one of the first directors of Ipswich Town Football Club when it turned professional in 1936.

The earliest surviving Suffolk club affiliations to The Badminton Association of England date from 1946 including: Suffolk Badminton Association logo 2000x3000

  • Ipswich Crusaders’
  • Electric Sports, Stowmarket
  • Felixstowe Grammar School

By 1951 there were 31 affiliated clubs in the Association, and by 1978 and the 50th Anniversary of the SBA there were 99 clubs affiliated – 83 senior, 16 junior and 4 Leagues:

  • Bury St Edmunds & District Badminton League
  • Ipswich and District Badminton League
  • Lowestoft and District League (these clubs now play in the Ipswich or the Norwich and District Leagues)
  • Newmarket Badminton Federation (formed in 1975)

Archives for the Stowmarket Badminton Club (collection GC849) and Rattlesden Badminton Club (collection GC846) are also held at Ipswich Record Office.

Today there are 3 leagues with 41 affiliated senior clubs, 18 unaffiliated clubs or groups and 12 junior clubs.

Schools Badminton Associations were established in Bury St Edmunds in 1973.  Over the years Suffolk has hosted various Badminton exhibition and demonstration events including one of a series of international matches played between England Youth and China Youth on 4th October 1982.  Ipswich Badminton Performance Centre (IBPC) was founded in 2011.