The Suffolk Archives statement on the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on its services is available to read here.

Which branch do I need?

Impact of COVID-19

You can read our Coronavirus update here.


Suffolk Archives has three branches, in Bury St Edmunds, Ipswich and Lowestoft. In terms of collecting archives each branch has its own geographical area:

  • Bury – the old West Suffolk county
  • Ipswich – the old East Suffolk county
  • Lowestoft – the area that is covered by Waveney District Council

Our ‘Which branch do I need’ document lists all Suffolk parishes and indicates which branch you need to contact or visit in order to start your research.

There are some exceptions, as you may find that larger collections from businesses, charities, landed estates, or solicitors hold material relating to the entire county. We also have some collections that include material from other counties and even other countries. Before visiting it’s always a good idea to contact the branches to check the exact location.